Training

training2

The comprehensive training to become a CASA volunteer was developed by the National CASA Association in consultation with child abuse and neglect professionals, juvenile court attorneys and judges, CASA staff, and CASA volunteers from all over the country.

Using this standard curriculum, our goal during CASA training is to ensure that volunteers receive the tools they need to be the best possible advocate for the children they will serve while providing a positive and stimulating experience. We realize volunteers are taking time from their regular lives and families, so we try our best to ensure that the time they are investing is well spent.

CASA training hours are scheduled at times that are convenient for most working people. Prior to being sworn in, volunteers undergo 40 hours of training, which includes courtroom observations, conducted by the local CASA program. Volunteers learn about courtroom procedure from the principles in the system – judges, lawyers, social workers, court personnel and others. CASA volunteers also learn effective child advocacy techniques and are educated about specific topics ranging from seminars on child sexual abuse to discussions on adolescent behavior.

Training days are Mondays and Wednesdays from either 9:30 am to 1:00 pm or 6:00 pm to 9:30 pm. Classes meet for five consecutive weeks. Volunteers in training must also complete ten hours of documented court observation.

Training Classes for 2020

2020 CASA Training Schedule

All of our training sessions are held at the Clayton County Youth Development & Justice Center. The training sessions are held on Mondays and Wednesdays. Each day we offer morning training sessions from 9:30am-1:30pm and afternoon sessions from 6pm-10pm.

WINTER 2020

January 27, 2020 Monday

January 29, 2020 Wednesday

February 3, 2020 Monday

February 5, 2020 Wednesday

February 10, 2020 Monday

February 12, 2020 Wednesday

February 17, 2020 Monday

February 19, 2020 Wednesday

February 24, 2020 Monday

February 26, 2020 Wednesday

SPRING 2020

April 1, 2020 Wednesday

April 6, 2020 Monday

April 8, 2020 Wednesday

April 13, 2020 Monday

April 15, 2020 Wednesday

April 20, 2020 Monday

April 22, 2020 Wednesday

April 27, 2020 Monday

April 29, 2020 Wednesday

May 4, 2020 Monday

SUMMER 2020

June 8, 2020 Monday

June 10, 2020 Wednesday

June 15, 2020 Monday

June 17, 2020 Wednesday

June 22, 2020 Monday

June 24, 2020 Wednesday

June 29, 2020 Monday

July 1, 2020 Wednesday

July 8, 2020 Monday

July 13, 2020 Wednesday

FALL 2020

September 9, 2020 Wednesday

September 14, 2020 Monday

September 16, 2020 Wednesday

September 21, 2020 Monday

September 23, 2020 Wednesday

September 28, 2020 Monday

September 30, 2020 Wednesday

October 5, 2020 Monday

October 7, 2020 Wednesday

October 14, 2020 Monday

All classes are mandatory and must be completed prior to being sworn in!

In order to become a CASA volunteer we ask that you first attend a one hour Orientation Session. During this informal presentation we provide an overview of what to expect during the CASA training, provide a forum for meeting fellow classmates, and allow opportunities for questions. Orientation will take place on the first date listed for the training class schedule. Prior to the one hour orientation session, a volunteer application and personal interview with staff must be completed. Upon receiving your application, a CASA staff person will contact you to set up the personal interview and go over the dates, times, and location of the next CASA training.

Please note: Application Deadlines- Applications must be received two weeks prior to the start of any training classes.

Training Information:

  • Location: Clayton County Juvenile Justice & Youth Development Center
  • 9163 Tara Blvd, Jonesboro, GA 30236
  • Contact: Call: 678-610-1061 or email: griffin.shirley@claytoncountyga.gov
  • Parking: Parking is free to all participants
  • Children: Childcare is not provided during orientation or training sessions
  • Visitors: Visitors are not allowed to attend class sessions
Training5 blocks